“And it was funny because they were all academics. They all taught at Universities. So when I went to the opening, I was the waitress. So that’s the stuff that is neat in my life. I can be hanging in a museum show, with all of these important photographers, and I’m a waitress.”

A nice interview with Susan Worsham over at APhotoEditor the other day. Well worth the read. One of the last sentences reminded me again that it’s not how you live your life but what you make during that matters. Okey, that’s just absurd. I realized it the moment I’d written it. Of course it matters how you live your life, but maybe not how you finance it. I’m digging the hole deeper and deeper, aren’t I? Don’t sell drugs or rob banks to afford taking pictures ok! It’s probably not worth it and you’ll have to live with the fact that you messed up someone else’s life whilst. Just be nice and all is swell. Nonetheless I also realise I’d rather be the academic than the waiter, I’m just saying it doesn’t matter, or at least shouldn’t matter. Trivialities.

(The photo above is of Linnea in France and is completely unrelated)

 

Leave a comment